Release Day Spotlight ✰ The Follow by Eliza David

Today, MRN is spotlighting a book I’ve been looking forward to for a little while; since the cover popped up in my Twitter feed. Don’t worry, you’ll get a chance to drool too in a bit, if you haven’t seen it already.

swoon.gif

The Follow is now LIVE on Amazon

Eliza David has graciously stopped by My Reading Nook to share with us about her newest release…Enjoy!

51dgzRrxh-L.jpg

 

✰✰✰SYNOPSIS✰✰✰

New hire Shauna McIntyre joins The Charisma Group, a New York-based talent agency specializing in social media management. Even though she has never been much of a fangirl in her personal life, Shauna expects that her signature professional task is managing the online fandom of her famous clientele. What she didn’t expect was to fall in love with one of them.

R&B sensation King Smith has made a career of singing soulful tunes and strumming his guitar for his adoring fans. King also harbors a secret: he’s in recovery for sex addiction. When King lays eyes on Shauna, the crooner with a craving for no-strings lust decides to change his life in an effort to hold on to her.

Once King is tempted by the admiration of a persistent online fan, Shauna has a decision to make. When professional lines are blurred and relentless love takes hold, will Shauna sacrifice her rising career for an affair with a famous man with a seemingly insatiable thirst for his fandom?

add-to-goodreads

amazon button

excerpt

The cab slowed to a stop in front of Costas Tower an hour later. I hopped out of the backseat, fidgeting with my blazer and smoothing a hand against the back of my messy bun. I smiled at the doorman as I walked into the building, hoping I didn’t look as if I’d just thrown myself together in an hour. I took a breath of relief as I looked at the time on my cell. I was only five minutes late for my one-on-one meeting with my boss. I clicked my heels through the doors of The Charisma Group and bee-lined to his office.

“Chase, my apologies,” I said, not noticing the serious look on his perfect face until I sat down across from him. Confusion set in as I tried to decipher his expression.

“Shauna,” he started with a sigh, turning to his monitor.

I reached into my green Hermes tote and pulled out my tablet. “I know, I know. I’m late. After the gala, Lena and I had a few at The Summit,” I lied. “We saw some clients there, brought them a few rounds. It turned into a thing, you know how it is.”

Chase gave a short chuckle. “Yeah, speaking of clients…”. He turned his monitor to face me. Staring back at me was an image of me in that black dress, bent over a cream Rolls Royce.

I gasped, the palpitations in my chest returning as I turned my gaze back to Chase.

Chase clenched his jaw. “So just how long have you been fucking your client, King Smith?”

Q+A

Describe The Follow in 4 words. 

Sensual, painful, intimate, and fandom
 

What was the best/most difficult thing about writing this book?

The best thing about this book is the comraderie my male MC King receives during his addiction recovery. It was important for me to show his vulnerability during treatment for his sex disorder and that he, in turn, received the support he needed.

The most difficult aspect of writing The Follow was stepping in and out of King and Shauna’s voices.  The novel’s chapters alternate between their points of view, which was challenging because King and Shauna are two very different people with one thing in common: love for one another.
Who is your favorite character from this book and why?

Definitely Lena, Shauna’s work BFF.  She’s the comic relief of the novel and has her own hilarious mini-backstory in which she manages the fandom of an actor who is less-than-easy to work with.  I put a fair amount of myself into Lena more so than in any other character.  She’s judgmental and a touch bitchy, but she’s also witty, a great friend to Shauna, and a dedicated fangirl (like myself!).
Where did the inspiration for this book come from? 

I’ve always had an interest in fandom.  I rep hard for my faves.  So when I thought about basing a love story in the world of online fandom, I wanted it to be intriguing.  Shauna is a social media manager who falls in love with her client – who also happens to be a famous singer with a secret sex addiction. Lots of risk here; not only is she falling in love on the job, but this man has his own demons he’s battling and attempting to shield from the limelight. How does she manage her career and her relationship simultaneously? Does she bolt or does she stay? Is King’s recovery successful? (You’ll have to read to find out!)
What next can we expect from you?

Next up for me is the sequel to my last novel Savage, entitled Still Savage.  I plan to release it by Fall 2017. That novel will then segue into another volume of my Cougarette series entitled The Westons (tentative release Spring 2018).  In between time, I’ll be popping up at some book shows this summer and fall (check my schedule on my Amazon page for deets!) honing up my scriptwriting skills and preparing spec scripts based on the Cougarette/Savage series. In short, keep your eye on me!


 

✰✰✰AUTHOR✰✰✰

eliza david.jpg

Eliza David is the author of the six-book Cougarette series. She was born and raised on the noisy South Side of Chicago, but now lives in super quiet Iowa. When she’s not writing, working full-time, or raising two children with her loving husband, Eliza enjoys reading throwback Jackie Collins and indulging in the occasional order of cheese fries.

Eliza is a blogger as well, having served as a contributing writer for Real Moms of Eastern Iowa and Thirty on Tap. She was a featured panelist at both the Iowa Soul Festival and Iowa City Book Festival in 2016. You can grab her first novel, The Cougarette, for FREE on Amazon!

Find Eliza David on the interwebs

Website • Facebook • Instagram • Twitter  • Amazon • Goodreads

I hope you’ve found your next favorite book!

Xoxo,

Coco 💋

 

 

2 thoughts on “Release Day Spotlight ✰ The Follow by Eliza David

Leave a Reply

