Book Spotlight ✰ Catch Me If I Fall by Kay Blake

I’m working hard to bring you more spotlights this year, hoping to help all of us find our next fave. That brings us to a new feature, Book Spotlight.  Unlike the Release Day Spotlight, books featured aren’t only new releases (published within 30 days), but those published within the last 3 months too.

First up, we are shining the spotlight on Ms. Kay Blake’s newest book, Catch Me If I Fall (The Kim Brothers, Book 1) which was released on December 30, 2016.  This book was already on my TBR list, hopefully you’ll add it to yours as well.

Get the scoop below the gorgeous cover 😍 :

33021345.jpg

✰✰✰SYNOPSIS✰✰✰

Kasi:
I have reached rock bottom. The kind of bottom that is so dark, there is no light at the end of the tunnel. There is nothing, but pain, loneliness and helpless despair. I didn’t picture my life going this way. I wasn’t suppose to be unhappy and broken.
How can someone find the good in me when all the good I had was taken from me?

Jae:
Helping people makes me feel good. I don’t do it for any accolades. I do it because when I needed someone to talk to, when I needed someone to keep me from spiraling out of control, I found it.
From the first time I saw her, I knew that there was something about her. I didn’t know what, but like a gravitational pull I wanted to know more about her even if she was here only to find some support for her grief.
Maybe I couldn’t solve her problems, but I wont let her face them alone.

add-to-goodreads

amazon button

 

excerpt

After leaving the store, I drove down the highway until I reached a winding path surrounded by greenery that marked where the entrance of the cemetery was. It was something I did every day. My therapist said eventually this would cease too, but I thought she was talking crazy and ignored her anytime she said anything like that. Or abruptly changed the subject. Yes, I knew she had all these fancy degrees. Yes, I knew she went to school for a long time to open her own practice and see people who were fucked up in the head like me. What she didn’t understand was that me coming here helped me feel close to him. As crazy as it sounded, it gave me some kind of normalcy after everything that happened.

Grabbing my small folding stool from the trunk of my car, I made my way up the grassy path that led to my son’s grave. The headstone was a smooth light gray color compared to the ones surrounding it with a crying angel whose beautiful wings covered the top as if my son was being comforted even in death. There was a part of me that was completely gone. Physically, it felt like someone had ripped my heart out with their bare hands and thrown it to the ground while stomping on it and then lighting it with gasoline, and finally, setting it ablaze. As dramatic as that sounds, it’s so true. This kind of pain wasn’t supposed to happen to a parent. He laid buried in the ground when he deserved to be alive living his life and being the sweet happy little boy he always was. Children should always bury their parents, not the other way around.

 

Q+A

Where did the inspiration for this book come from?

Well, from a few things actually. I have a big celebrity crush on actor Sung Kang and I wanted to write a character who looked like him. I read this blog post about an amputee and the idea of writing a heroine who wears a prosthetic seemed like a story that should’ve been written and so I did.

What was the hardest thing about writing this book?

I think a few things were a bit hard or required me to push myself. One writing a character of a different ethnicity of mine required research to be authentic, but also still tell my story. Writing a character who had a limb amputation was also pretty hard. Her grief at losing a child, I somewhat based on when I lost my first husband to cancer.  For me, her grief was real because I’ve been there. Also, her backstory also required me to use personal experience and dig a bit deep.

Who is your favorite character from this book and why?

Honestly, I loved Jae and his kindness. His understanding about dealing with Kasi and her “baggage”. Her bff Debbie was super fun to write.

Catch Me If I Fall is the first book in the Kim Brothers series, what next can we expect from this series?

Book 2 which will be titled Free Me is going to revolve around Jae’s middle brother David and a woman named Allison. David is a bit of a wild card so I am excited about where this story will go. It should be released December of 2017.


✰✰✰AUTHOR✰✰✰

myavatar-fierce.jpg

Kay writes sassy, sexy and sweet contemporary and interracial romance. She is from arguably the greatest city in the world. (New York).  She is a sarcastic sweetheart who prefers snuggling at home with a good book. She is a wife and a mom to three cubs.

Kay has always been fond of the written word. As a child she wrote songs, poetry, short stories and what has come to be known as fan fiction. She decided to take her love for the written word seriously when she hit publish for the first time in 2014.
Kay indulges in strawberry cheesecake, horror movies, Harry Potter, The Walking Dead, wrestling and of course a happily ever after.

She blogs at http://www.authorkayblake.wordpress.com

&

Find Kay on the interwebs:  

 WebsiteFacebook Fan Page • Facebook Profile  Twitter • Instagram Pinterest Wattpad

Find Kay’s other titles on Amazon

 

Hope you’ve found your next favorite book!

 

Xoxo,

Coco 💋

4 thoughts on “Book Spotlight ✰ Catch Me If I Fall by Kay Blake

Leave a Reply

