REVIEW: I’m Judging You: The Do-Better Manual by Luvvie Ajayi


28696602I’m Judging You: The Do-Better Manual
by Luvvie Ajayi

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

I’ve been following AwesomelyLuvvie.com since the early days; it’s kept me in stitches, even when she tackled topics that weren’t supposed to be quite so funny. Though I’ve never met Luvvie in person, she’s like a little sister in my mind and I’m so very proud to bear witness to her many accomplishments over the years. Her talent is undeniable, but she also uses the platform she has attained to do good and give back. Brava, Miss Luvvie! Brava!


So the book…Loved it!
tumblr_n22jcjfraj1qb6e0eo1_400
As a long-time fan, each chapter was what I expected…laugh out loud humor with a side of sarcasm and side eye! Many of the chapters here were topics that Luvvie has covered on her blog and/or talked about before in some way on social media, just more elaboration. Luvvie has her very own “language” of made up words — many are a nod to her Dumbest Tweets compilations over the years — that those of us who are in the know understand. For those reading I’m Judging You who aren’t familiar with this vernacular, the humor in it could be sorely lost.

For all that I loved about I’m Judging You, every author should not perform/narrate his/her own book. Sadly, Luvvie falls into that group for me. Against my better judgement and advise of blogger bae Sharonda_Isadora, I decided to go with the audiobook in lieu of the paperback. Luvvie’s narration lacked the inflection and level of humor that reading her words usually garners (for me) in my head. Her voice lacked the emotion that I’d expect when someone is reading her own words. There was also a point in which she must have had a cold because I was downright confused as to which audiobook I was listening to as her voice was completely different than the rest of the audiobook.

My issues with the narration aside, I still enjoyed I’m Judging You while driving to/from work each day when I didn’t have time to read a paperback. If you’re looking for a quick, light-hearted and fun read, this book will hit the spot! I’m Judging You will make you cackle like a loon; not to mention judge those around you!
add-to-goodreads

amazon button

One thought on “REVIEW: I’m Judging You: The Do-Better Manual by Luvvie Ajayi

Comments are closed.