REVIEW: Life After Yes by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

7153900
Life After Yes
by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

My rating: 3.5 stars

I bought this audiobook on a whim based on a glowing recommendation from a friend when I was looking to step outside my normal box. My friend is very familiar with my reading preferences; thus I was predictably intrigued by the blurb.
Life After Yes follows a young corporate lawyer, Prudence (aka Quinn) O’Malley who is recently engaged to a successful investment banker. She seems to have everything –successful career, handsome fiancé, loving family and friends. Quinn’s living the life everyone wants, except she’s confused and conflicted about the direction of her life. She misses her father, who perished in one of the towers on 9/11. As she draws closer to her impending nuptials, Quinn constantly wonders whether she’s making the right decision. Her thoughts and decisions at points had me like…

I’m going to go ahead and say it — I didn’t like Quinn all that much. Not that that’s always a criteria to love a book, but it doesn’t hurt. I’ve known a few Quinns in my lifetime – women who have just about everything and STILL aren’t happy. I felt like no matter how great life was, Quinn would never be 100% happy or fulfilled. Many of her ramblings and complaints felt like those of a spoiled princess; not someone I found to be flawed, yet endearing.

The prose was well-executed and the story flowed well though at points the audiobook narration read somewhat robotic and dull. Overall, I didn’t dislike this book, I just couldn’t connect with Quinn or her plight on any deeper level. This is one of those books that would be great for a book club to dissect and unravel Quinn’s psyche. I just couldn’t get into it enough to make me care to do so on my own.

add-to-goodreads

amazon button

One thought on “REVIEW: Life After Yes by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

Leave a Reply

