REVIEW: Pieces of Me by Kirby Elaine

28406815Pieces of Me by Kirby Elaine

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Pieces of Me was a Kindle Unlimited recommendation. Honestly, 90% of the time my KU recommendations are books that I will never read, but I was so taken with the cover of this book that I just HAD to find out what it was about. Rarely does a cover 1) move me to read a book or 2) truly depict a character in the book, but this one hit the nail on the head on both counts!

18265405

Jason is a war veteran trying to get his life back on track after losing his leg while dealing with extreme PTSD. At a local coffeehouse is where he meets Kylie. There’s not only attraction between Jason and Kylie but she brings a calm to Jason’s soul that he hasn’t felt in a long while, maybe never. I felt Jason’s struggles; connected with him on a deep level. Kylie on the other hand…

tumblr_inline_n3q0e69hht1s7tidj

I wasn’t here for her waffling back and forth. Either love Jason completely or leave him alone. I grew increasingly frustrated with her to the point of almost throwing this book into the DNF pile. Then the plot twist happened…

omg7
Despite a some inconsistencies in the storyline along the way, I found this novella-length story to be deeply poignant and sweet. I’d definitely read more from this new-to-me author.
add-to-goodreads-button

amazon button

