2016 Reading Goals

The first month of 2016 has flown by! And I can barely keep up.

Kid_Flash_Running

Though January isn’t officially over yet, I’m a little late on this post as I planned to get it out of the way in the first week of January, not the last.

Reading goals for 2016…

For the last couple of years, I’ve been reading contemporary romance almost exclusively. Frankly, I’ve become somewhat bored as all the books I’ve read have started to run together.  This is not a criticism on any authors. I’ve read some GREAT books!  I tend to pick the same types of books by the same authors time after time.  This year, instead of reading a specific number of books, I’m reinvigorating a goal I set last year but didn’t really live up to. I’m determined to step out of my reading box A LOT more in 2016. A few examples of genres/themes you’ll see more of this year:

  • Historical Romance – I gave up on this genre a while back when all the historicals I read portrayed heroines as property, without their own agency in marriage and sex. Times have changed and I’m hoping the genre has as well. I’m looking forward to stepping back in time a little this year.
  • AA/Interracial Romance – I already read these genres as you know, so I’m looking for books that are set outside the US and/or have non-American main characters.
  • Paranormal Romance – Honestly, I don’t even know where to start, but I’m going to throw a dart in the dark and see where I land.
  • Literary fiction – I love this genre but haven’t read anything in a couple of years.

I’m going to read/review at least one book a month from one of these genres (and others). If you have any recommendations, please pass them my way!!

 

Xoxo,

Coco

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “2016 Reading Goals

Comments are closed.