REVIEW: Getting Schooled (The Wright Brothers #1) by Christina C. Jones

Getting Schooled (The Wright Brothers, #1)Getting Schooled by Christina C. Jones

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Reese is a grad student/assistant for her mother’s undergraduate Modern Black Literature course, so Reese’s first introduction to “J. Wright”, one of her mom’s students, was reading an assignment he’s written. Reese is immediately smitten even though she has no idea exactly who J. Wright is yet…

“This paper earns a goddamned bae-plus if you ask me.”

“He just… brought something out of me.” My mother chuckled. “Uh huh. I just bet he did.” “And what does that mean?!” I gasped. “Little girl I’ve seen Jason Wright, and I’m not blind! And I’ve seen you fawn over his writing.

There’s a healthy dose of fun, witty banter between Jay and Reese that kept me cackling throughout this book. It’s not all fun and games though. Both Jay and Reese have suffered loss and heartache in their young lives. There was such a good balance of the emotional and comedic that Getting Schooled never lost its lighthearted feel or became maudlin.

A few of my fave moments:

“I swear, you are the most irritating, abrasive, snarky woman I’ve ever met.”
“And that’s exactly why you want me so bad, isn’t it?” Yes. Hell yes.

“I let you think you’re handling me.” “Nah, I let you think you’re not getting handled.”

I’ve never made it a secret that I LOVE a sassy, unapologetic heroine. (Sorry, I’m not here for the shrinking violet heroines who are all prim and proper, virginal and perfect.) And a hero who can handle all of that and not try to change her is TOPS! Be still my heart!!

She’d challenged and encouraged, nurtured and insulted her way right into my heart…


After being in a book slump for a couple of weeks, Reese and Jason gave me all I needed to bring me out of it!! I fell in love with both of them…and their supporting cast. The supporting characters added lots to the story, without leaving me feeling like they were taking over from the main story arc between Reese and Jason. I can’t wait for the next Wright brother’s story and to get updates on Reese’s mom and Papa Wright.

My only quibble would be the ending. I felt like Jay and Reese’s journey wasn’t quite done yet. This being book 1 of the Wright Brothers series, I’m sure we’ll get updates on Reesie and Jay as the series continues, so I’m not unhappy with their HFN ending. I’m just greedy like that!

add-to-goodreads-button
amazon button

One thought on “REVIEW: Getting Schooled (The Wright Brothers #1) by Christina C. Jones

Comments are closed.