REVIEW: Addiction (The Hunted #2) by Ivy Smoak

Addiction (The Hunted Series, Book 2)Addiction by Ivy Smoak

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Although the Hunted series is a serial, I read parts 4-6 as a box set, so I’m reviewing the story as one book, rather than its separate installments. Warning: this review will be mildly spoiler-y if you haven’t read Temptation yet.

OK, that’s out of the way, let’s get to it!

We met Professor Hunter and Penny in Temptation. Although Penny and Professor Hunter frustrated me to no end with their secrets and lies, I was completely enthralled by them. At the end of Temptation I was like…
So eager to know how they were going to overcome and be in a relationship when their relationship is against the rules.

Here, we pick up right where Temptation left off. I really felt for Penny. Her emotions around Professor Hunter’s departure were realistic and heart-wrenching. Prof. Hunter, OTOH, made me ragey! Just when Penny decides to try and move on — and not spend her days pining and grieving over the loss of Prof Hunter, here he comes wreaking havoc. I know, I know Penny and Prof Hunter were meant to be! I just wanted Prof. Hunter to man up — either leave Penny be or go all in without playing games with her heart. Penny is basically a teenager so her naivety and uncertainties made sense to me for someone in the midst of her first adult relationship.

Though Prof. Hunter isn’t that much older than Penny, he’s been through some thangs. So I expected him to be more mature at times.

When the affair between Penny and Prof. Hunter is brought to light against their will, their relationship is truly tested. Will Penny and Prof. Hunter persevere or fall apart?

Addiction was another emotional rollercoaster. There was growth in the characters and the story. I thoroughly enjoyed this sexy, forbidden love affair and was sad to see it end!

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review.*

add-to-goodreads-button

amazon button

 

 

One thought on “REVIEW: Addiction (The Hunted #2) by Ivy Smoak

Comments are closed.