✦✦✦ AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT✦✦✦ Tiffany Patterson

Welcome to MRN’s December Author Spotlight. Today, MRN is featuring an author I found by happenstance while perusing Amazon recommendations earlier this year. After reading her first book this summer, I was hooked. You’ve probably seen my glowing reviews for this author’s work (if you haven’t, get on that as soon as you’re finished here) so I’m hoping you love her books as much as I do.

Today, MRN puts the spotlight on Author Tiffany Patterson. Let’s jump right in and get to know Tiffany and her work…

Me1

I am a daughter. A sister. An aunt. A former teacher. Non-fiction writer. And, now, a fiction writer! 

I love to laugh and am a romantic at heart. I fell in love with African-American/Multicultural romance about eight years ago, upon reading my first Francis Ray novel. I’ve been hooked on the genre ever since. A few years ago, I got the idea to pen my own romance novel. It took me awhile to follow through, but I’m ecstatic that I finally did! My goal is to provide diverse and interesting stories that center around women falling in love and being loved. My stories will also feature diverse social and personal issues that plague us. I look forward to working and growing as a writer. And I especially look forward to your feedback.

Q+A

Who/what inspires you/your writing? 

After my first book was published I often read my reviews on Amazon. I wanted to get feedback from strangers who I knew would be honest and even blunt about their feelings on the book. One day I stumbled on a review and I thought “this is why I write.” In the review the reviewer commented on how they were going through a difficult time with a break up and they just wanted to zone out for a while. To get away from the sadness and hurt for a few hours. They wrote that my book, Black Pearl, allowed them to do just that. They actually thanked me for writing and it brought tears to my eyes because I know that feeling. I’ve been a reader of romance long before I became a writer. I love being taken away on a journey of two people falling in love, for a few hours out of my day, especially on days where life seems to get the better of me. It’s my escape and I am inspired to write these types of stories of love, redemption and even hope to remind myself and others of those positive emotions.

Is there a certain type of scene that’s harder for you to write than others…(e.g., love scene, action, emotional tear jerker)? 

Most definitely, the emotional, tear jerker. And I haven’t even done that many tear jerker scenes in my books so far. There was one scene in Black Pearl where it was hard. Nikola and Devyn are forced to break up, and originally, I planned for them to be separated longer, but because I got so sad seeing both the characters hurting, I couldn’t do it any longer. It was like Nikola was forcing me to write him going to get his woman.

You’ve just published your 3rd book, Black Butterfly, what was the hardest thing about writing this novel?

The hardest part about Black Butterfly, is that I didn’t want it to be too much like Black Pearl. This is Andre’s story, and he is Nikola’s younger brother. They both have dominating personalities and I would consider them both “alpha males” but they are two different people and I wanted that to come across. There are some similarities in how the men behave towards their women, but I wanted to make sure the reader is able to distinguish between the two men. I didn’t want this to be a “Black Pearl Part 2” type of thing. I believe I was able to do that.

If you had a superpower, what would it be? Why?

I’ve always wanted the power to be able to fly, which is ironic since I am deathly afraid of heights. But yes, flying because I’d want to experience what it’s like to not be weighed down by gravity, probably could get to places a lot faster, and just to be able to get a birds eye view of the ground.

What’s next for you? What are you working on now? 

I have so many stories I am planning. I’ve already started on book number four, and if you’ve read Black Butterfly you probably can guess who that story will be about (hint hint 😉). This one will be another BWWM, and I am thinking that there are probably four or five more characters in book 4 that will get their own stories. Two of those will be BWWM and two will be AA romance. I am also looking forward to writing my first AA romance book in the coming months. I have a lot of AA romance characters in mind, some of whom are from my current works, and some of whom are just completely different stories.  

Read an excerpt from Black Butterfly, (Black Burlesque, Book 3) Tiffany’s latest release…

28128991

Andre lifted an eyebrow. He knew an Iris Collins rant on love and marriage was coming. He could think of about a thousand things he’d rather do than sit through a lecture on the value of marriage and love by his mother. One of them being gauging his own eyes out.

“I’m just saying, look how happy Nik and Devyn are. And once Raul and Mercedes arrive you will see how wonderfully happy they are. You know Hwan and Jerry have been together for years and are doing great. How wonderful that gay marriage has been legalized. You know…”

Andre tuned his mother out. He silently hoped Cassandra would start squirming or need a diaper change so his mother would have to focus on something else. As he gazed down at Cassandra’s cherub cheeks and heavily lidded gaze as she laid her head down on his mother’s shoulder, he knew he was in no such luck.

Maybe one of the twins will… His thoughts were interrupted when he saw a figure emerge from the sliding glass doors. Andre’s stance became fully erect as the odd sensation of butterflies in his stomach grew. His brows furrowed in dismay. He’d rarely reacted this way toward any woman since he’d hit puberty, and he’d been around hundreds of women. The only time recently he remembered having this reaction was at Mercedes and Raul’s wedding when he first met her.

Her cinnamon colored skin had a natural, healthy glow. Her long legs and arms betrayed her barely five-feet-four inch frame. When she moved, Andre thought it looked as if she floated rather than walked. She had an heir of grace about her presence that was innate. She was dressed in a sleeveless black blouse and a white flowy skirt, that stopped a few inches below the knee in the front, but flowed down to her feet in the back, and a pair of platform sandals. Her hair was different from the last time he’d seen her. She wore it in a straightened style for Mercedes’ wedding. Now, it was long in some sort of twisted style that she’d put into a side braid hanging over her shoulder. Andre let his gaze follow the delicate curve of her shoulder. When she turned, Andre could see the tattoo of a butterfly on the back of her right shoulder. He swallowed deeply, suddenly parched.

He knew her name was Stacey and that she was a friend of Mercedes and Devyn from their burlesque dancing. He’d only met her once and his body had the same reaction the first time he’d seen her. But, he had gone to the wedding with Maria, so out of respect for his date he opted to keep his distance. At least, that was what he told himself. He may have also been too taken aback by the magnitude of his response to her. Either way, he’d kept his distance, but he often found his eyes drawn to wherever she was. It was as if his brain had a mental GPS tracker on her, his eyes always landing on wherever she was in the room. That was nearly three months ago, and now here she was again, having the same effect on him.

The scowl on Andre’s face grew deeper when he saw a man emerge from the door behind Stacey. He was about five-ten, medium build and a few shades darker than Stacey. When he put his hand on the small of her back, Andre’s eyes narrowed and his fists flexed unconsciously.

Who’s this fucker? He thought before he could stop himself.

Iris cleared her throat. “Are you listening to me, sweetie?” she asked innocently. Iris had watched Andre’s entire body language change when Stacey entered the backyard. She’d seen the same reaction three months prior at Raul and Mercedes’ wedding. She watched as Andre reluctantly turned his attention back to her with a glower on his face.

“I’m sorry, mama. What were you saying?” Andre asked as he steeled his face to cover the irritated look from only a few seconds before.

“Oh nothing, Andre. I think Raul and Mercedes just arrived. I’m going to go say hello. Why don’t you go mingle…or something,” she said in a sugary sweet tone before strolling off.

As soon as his mother departed, Andre turned to where he last saw Stacey standing, but she wasn’t there. He scanned the rest of the backyard and saw Stacey and her companion by the pool talking with a few other women he believed performed at the Black Kitty with Devyn and Mercedes. Andre’s stomach muscles tightened when he watched as Stacey threw her head back laughing. His eyes glided down the column of her neck and he reflexively tightened his hands into fists. He was beginning to feel like a randy teenager, not a grown ass man who’d bedded plenty of women. Andre decided to go find his two nephews and greet Mercedes and Raul instead of gawking at the woman who unknowingly held his rapt attention.

e7c7b-goodreads

amazon button


Tiffany’s Book List

(Click book cover to purchase on Amazon)

51mya2bxfs5l-_uy250_ 51p6i9dh4fl-_uy250_

You can also find Tiffany all over the interwebs…

WebsiteFacebookTwitterPinterest ✦ Goodreads ✦ Amazon


Check out my reviews for Black Pearl and Black DahliaI hope you’ve found your next favorite read.  I’m looking forward to more from Ms. Patterson in the future.

Xoxo,

Coco

2 thoughts on “✦✦✦ AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT✦✦✦ Tiffany Patterson

Comments are closed.