✦✦✦ AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT✦✦✦ Xyla Turner

This month MRN is reintroducing you to an author who I had the pleasure to find through social media a few months ago. Ain’t Twitter wonderful?! After reading one of her recent releases, I became an insta-fan! I hope you will too.

Today, MRN puts the spotlight on Author Xyla Turner. Let’s jump right in and get acquainted with Xyla and her work…

turner_headshot

Xyla Turner was born and raised in Brooklyn, New York. As a teenager, Xyla wrote short stories and essays that have won numerous awards in local to nationwide competitions. She is an avid reader, but a sucker for romance. Specifically, sassy females and dominant males. Xyla is a dedicated educator and a life coach. Outside of reading, Xyla likes to spend time with her family and travel. She writes different genres, but her favorite is romance.

Q+A

1) What do you do in your spare time?

In my spare time, I write, read, hang out with my friends and family. At least once every two years, I try something new like sky diving, a ropes course or helicopter lessons. (A daredevil, I see…Hmmmm)

2) What is your biggest challenge as a writer?

For me, the biggest challenge is trying to keep up with my characters. 🙂 Also, if I write a good few chapters one day and come back, I have to read everything all over again in order to get in the right mood to write, so I will have the same voice and consistency for my characters.

3) What was the last book you read?

The last book I read was Walk Through Fire by Kristen Ashley.

4) What author, living or dead, would you like to have a night on the town with?

I’d love to meet Barack Obama. He’s an author and I would love to hear the things he didn’t put in the book. 😉

5) What/who inspires your stories/characters?

Everyday life inspires my stories and characters. Whether it’s different situations with my friends and family. Something I’ve seen on television or something I hear. My first thought is, ‘that is a story’ or ‘that would be a good character in one of my series.” In my first books, there were a lot of things that I have personally experienced, but as I have continued to write, some of the events and characters’ stories stem from people that I know or things they have experienced.

6) Who is your favorite character from one of your books and why?

My favorite character would have to be Joshua in BOMBSHELL. Probably due to the fact that he really took Samantha as she was. On top of that, he did everything in his power to make sure her business was the success that she wanted it to be. He was not only her man, but her partner and friend. (MRN note: Joshua is on my top 5 Book Boyfriend list…I highly recommend taking the time to get to know him.)


Read an excerpt from The Chase II, (Double XX, Book 2) Xyla’s latest release…

The Chase II is a continuation of Xena and Xavier’s story — for all the juicy details, you will need to read The Chase (Double XX, Book 1) before jumping into this one.

(Xena is having dinner at an exclusive restaurant with a handsome lawyer.)

Xena.” A familiar voice interrupted.

Oh my God.

I could have ducked under the table. I almost raised to ask God to beam me up right then. That would have been a bit dramatic, but such was life when dealing with Xavier Andrews.

My head turned to the right, “Xavier, what are you doing here?

Dining.” He smiled and made a point to look at Reese’s hand on top of mine.

Reese, to his credit or stupidity, did not move it nor did he back down from the staring contest happening between the two men. Therefore, I removed my hand and turned to face Xavier.

We discussed this,” I said through gritted teeth.

We did,” he confirmed and pulled up a chair.

Oh boy.

Reese sat back and folded his arms over his chest with one eyebrow raised as if he was about to be entertained.

Xavier paid no mind to my raised eyebrow either, as he continued, “But we also discussed that we loved each other. We discussed babies, getting married and a partnership. You’re my baby girl. We’ve been through some mess and you have the best thing embedded on you. A symbol of our love. I have one now because despite all that we’ve discussed. I’ll never stop loving you.

Whoosh.

He turned towards Reese and said, “Carry on.

Xavier picked up the chair and put it back in its rightful place. He gracefully turned and did not make a scene. Stated his case, then left me to my own devices. It reminded me of when we first met, he was trying to keep me from making a scene and once he did that, he walked off.

Crazy for me – check ten.

That must be XAND.” Reese interrupted my thoughts.

What?

XAND. That’s Xavier Andrews and you must be the woman that brought him to his knees.

At first I started to shake my head, then I stopped and laughed.

No one brings Xavier to his knees.” I chuckled. “He’s the one that has people bow before him.

Not with what I just saw. He was the one kneeling.

The man had a point.

e7c7b-goodreads

amazon button

Did anyone else get the vapors reading that? I know I did!!

Anyway, back to business…


Xyla’s Book List

(Click book cover to purchase on Amazon)

       

Anthologies

  

To get updates on new releases, sign up for Xyla’s mailing list or to receive text alerts: text EZXYLA to 313131. You can also find Xyla all over the interwebs…

WebsiteFacebookTwitterPinterest ✦ Goodreads ✦ Amazon


To say that Xyla has had a VERY busy 2015 — which still has almost 2 months left — is a gross understatement as she’s published 12 distinct works this year. I can barely keep up with my blog posts and Xyla’s written TWELVE books. 😱  When I’m able to get paid to just sit home and read, I’m going to be able to keep up, I promise. ‘Til then I plan to just take my sweet time getting to know all the characters coming out of Xyla World. From what I’ve read thus far, I surely won’t be bored as Xyla’s stories are a great mix of heroines you can relate to, alpha heroes who make you swoon and real-world elements that make you think. I hope you’ve found your next favorite read!

Xoxo,

Coco

2 thoughts on “✦✦✦ AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT✦✦✦ Xyla Turner

Comments are closed.