REVIEW: Fate (Soulmates #2) by Nicole Dykes

Fate is the second book in the Soulmates series; the same story from book 1, Soulmatesfrom Jake’s POV.

I’ll say I’m not a big fan of companion novels as a rule because they are typically just a rehash of the same story I’ve already read. Thankfully, Fate didn’t spend much time in rehashing everything from Soulmates, just the highlights that were important from Jake’s perspective. The pace was fast and since Soulmates left me with some unanswered questions, I was glad to have those cleared up by reading Jake’s story.  As companion novels go, Fate was a worthwhile read, even though parts were somewhat repetitive and had me feeling like “been there, done that”.  At points, I felt that maybe Fate and Soulmates could have been combined into one full-length novel told with from alternating POVs without the need for two separate books.  As I did at the end of Soulmates, I wished for more for Maddy and Jake’s ending.

Overall, a bittersweet and poignant read that much like it’s predecessor had me in my feelings reminiscing about my own young adulthood.  I look forward to reading Ryan’s story in book 3 of the Soulmates series.

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

BUY » SERIES ORDER » AUTHOR

add-to-goodreads-button

One thought on “REVIEW: Fate (Soulmates #2) by Nicole Dykes

Comments are closed.