REVIEW: Soulmates (Soulmates #1) by Nicole Dykes

Soulmates is a coming of age story of Madison and Jake who met when they were six years old. They become best friends, share their first kiss with each other, then they have a falling out over something that is rather trivial in the whole scheme of things, but essentially ends their friendship until a tragic event makes them reconsider. 

I liked Soulmates…the story is one that took me back to that time in my own life. Ahhhh to be young again…

Soulmates takes us through a lot of the ups and downs of friendship, young love and figuring out where one fits in the world. Madison, Jake and their friends are all relatable — even when they weren’t too likable. How can Jake and Madison go from the best of friends to bitter enemies overnight? Because…teenagers!

I usually steer clear of YA/NA with teenagers because in the past I’ve spent a lot of time eye-rolling at the melodramatic antics of kids trying to act like adults. There was no sugar coating here that this group of friends are having parties with underage drinking, having sex way before they are emotionally ready and lying to their parents about all of it. I liked that they acted their age instead of feeling like I was being snowballed to believe they were mature. Soulmates had a very real tone without being a preachy after school special.

Overall, Soulmates was an enjoyable, quick read. It didn’t knock my socks off, but was a good enough debut novel that I’d read more by this author. I would have liked more development of Madison and Jake as to what made them do what they did instead of a quick telling of their actions. I could understand why Jake was mad at Madison initially, but didn’t quite understand why he insisted on being such a jerk to her for years afterward — perhaps that’ll come in the next book from Jake’s POV. Also, the time jumps were abrupt and jarring at times. Last, the ending left me wanting more.

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review.*

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

BUY » SERIES ORDER » AUTHOR

Soulmates (Soulmates, #1)

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Soulmates (Soulmates #1) by Nicole Dykes

Comments are closed.