REVIEW: Insatiable (Insatiable #1) by J.D. Hawkins

It took me two whole WEEKS to read Insatiable. For a book that’s only a bit over 100 pages, that’s unheard of for me.  I kept reading a chapter then I’d give up and consider not going back to it. I even read 3 other books in between — full length books! By the time I got to the 55% mark, I had decided to return it — it was a Kindle Unlimited borrow after all, so no skin off my back…or money out of my pockets, as it were.  

But I’m no quitter! Why give up on a book after reading more than 50% of it and there’s not even 50 more pages to the end…just finish it already and see how it all shakes out between Jax and Lizzie.

Jax sees Lizzie in a bar hanging with her friends and decides she’s the girl he’s taking home at the end of the night; never mind that she has a boyfriend. A few days later, the boyfriend is no more and Lizzie has asked Jax to teach her the ways of the flesh so that when she meets the next guy she wants to settle down with she’ll be able to keep him. Yeah, because hot, dirty sex is the only way to cultivate a lasting relationship.

Anyway, they agree to a week of ‘lessons’ for Lizzie to learn all she can from Jax. No feelings, no commitments; just sex. During this time, I had a hard time connecting with either Jax or Lizzie as characters and things move kinda slow between sex scenes. What is clear is the effect Jax’s ‘lessons’ are having on Lizzie. Lizzie’s transformation from being a naive, doormat for her ex-boyfriend to a confident young woman who knows her worth happens mind-blowingly fast and is somewhat unbelievable, but I was rooting for her.

I’ll just say it … I didn’t like Jax AT ALL. He’s pompous, cocky, arrogant (I could throw in a few more adjectives, but I think you get the drift!). In addition to incessantly waxing poetic about his prowess with picking up women and how great he looks, Jax says things like this…

You don’t go to Niagara Falls or the pyramids every day, but you remember them forever. That’s what I offer. An unforgettable night, and a taxi ride home.”

At the point I was ready to give up on Insatiable is just when things take a turn. Plus, all that cocksureness that Jax has does come in handy when Lizzie is confronted by her asshole of an ex-BF and his friends! I was prepared for the cliffhanger as I knew Insatiable was a two-part story but I wasn’t quite prepared to really end up liking Insatiable as much as I did in the second half. I’ll stop there because I don’t want to give it all away, but I sooooo enjoyed the end.

This hot little novella is written by a man; and it shows — that’s why I wanted to read it in the first place! Insatiable had some great moments of humor and Jax’s carnal expertise will have you fanning yourself even with the AC turned on full blast.

So will I read the second book? I’m not sure honestly.  Although this book ended in a cliffhanger, I can kinda guess how things will shake out in part 2; thus, I’m not sure I need to read another 100+ pages of Jax and Lizzie.  We shall see…

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️½

BUY » SERIES ORDER » AUTHOR

Insatiable

