★ ★ ★ LIEBSTER AWARD ★ ★ ★

My Reading Nook has been nominated for the Liebster Award.

I’m a new blogger; still learning my way. The fact that there are folks, who aren’t my family or close friends, out there who want to read what I’m blogging about is quite humbling. 😊 😊 😊

I want to give a shout out to Amber at Wild Heart Reviews and extend a BIG THANK YOU for nominating me. If you don’t know Amber and love romance novels, you need to check out her blog!

★ RULES 

  1. Thank the blogger that nominated you
  2. Answer the 11 questions that the blogger gives you
  3. Nominate 11 blogs that you think deserve the award
  4. Give them 11 questions to answer
  5. Let the bloggers know you nominated them

★  11 questions that I need to answer ★ ★ 

Not everyone is a book blogger; What do you blog about?

Well, I’m a book blogger, a bookworm, a bibliophile…as the MRN tagline says I’m a “voracious reader of all things and a lover of happily ever afters.” The majority of my posts are reviews of romance novels or my random thoughts about…you guessed it, happenings in the romance readers community. There’s a special place in my heart for the work of authors who write within the multicultural (e.g., IR or AA) romance subgenres.

That doesn’t mean that I don’t read/blog about anything else though. If I’m not reading romance, I love a good memoir or suspense novel.

Do you schedule your blogs or write them on the fly?

It depends. If I’m reading books back-to-back and the reviews are coming to me easily, I’ll schedule a few posts per week. OTOH, sometimes I’ll read an article or have a conversation that sparks something that I need to get off my chest right then and there.  Then there are times that I’m in a slump or too busy so I don’t post anything for days.

What do you do in your spare time?

My other love is cooking. I’m always looking for new recipes to try out.

Traveling…I don’t do as much of that as I’d like but I try to get away from my home turf as often as time and money allow to explore. I have a goal to visit at least one city in every U.S. state (30 down so far) and set foot on every continent before I die.

I’m also a reality TV addict — everything from competition shows like Dancing With the Stars to my latest guilty pleasure, Married at First Sight.

How much time do you actively spend blogging?

It’s hard to say, honestly. It varies depending on what else is going on with work and family responsibilities.  I probably need to set more of a routine/schedule to keep me on track.

What was the last book you bought?

Yesterday, I finally bought the hardcover of Humans of New York by Brandon Stanton. I’ve been following the HONY blog for a long time on social media. The stories always have me in my feels so I’ve been meaning to pick it up for a while now. It was 25% off, which I took as a sign. I’m a native NYer, so there’s that too. 😉

Every blogger has their drinking vice when blogging, what is yours? Coffee, tea, wine, water?

Because I’m not a morning person, it’s coffee if I’m blogging before 12pm. Usually though, I’m blogging in the evening so my drink of choice is a healthy pour of a good Malbec.

What is your biggest challenge when it comes to running your blog?

Time. I read pretty fast. Unfortunately, I don’t always have time to write book reviews as fast as I read. Currently, I have about 8 books in the queue for review.

Did you have professional help or did you create your blog yourself?

I would like to enlist a professional one day…maybe get a unique logo, but right now it’s all me figuring out things through trial and error.

If you could travel anywhere in the world and stay for a year, where would it be?

My travel bucket list is quite long. It’d be either Africa, Asia or Australia…all places I’ve not visited yet. I think a year would give me just enough time to explore and make a dent in my list of to-dos.

If you could spend a day with your favorite author, what would you ask them?

My favorite author of all time is Zora Neale Hurston. Hmmmm…I’d want to know what/who inspired her to become a writer; particularly in a time when the options for women of color were so limited.

What got you into blogging?

Although I’ve always been a bookworm, a few of years ago when I was laid off from my job is when my reading hit its peak. It was the first time in a VERY long time that I could read books of my choosing that had nothing to do with work or school. I went hog wild. Social media gave me an outlet to chat with countless other readers who enjoyed the same books as I do so I started writing more in-depth reviews for books and posting them on Tumblr, where My Reading Nook was born.


★ ★ ★ Who I am nominating ★ ★ 

Eleven blogs, you say? 😱 😱 😱 . Here are seven. I’m going to come back to update this section as I scour the interwebs for interesting new blogs to nominate.

The Opinionated Woman’s Musings

Paperback Book Addict

WOCInRomance

Lost In A Book

Brazen Babe Reviews

Monlatable Book Reviews

Musings Of an IR Romance Junkie


★ ★ ★ 11 questions for those I nominate ★ ★ 

  1. What do you blog about?
  2. How did you come up with the name for your blog?
  3. If you were a book, what genre would you be and and who would read/not read you?
  4. What inspires you?
  5. What’s your favorite music to listen to while you’re blogging?
  6. What’s one thing most people don’t know about you and would be surprised to find out?
  7. If you weren’t blogging about [insert your blog’s primary topic], what else would you blog about?
  8. Are you an introvert, extrovert, or somewhere in between depending on the situation?
  9. Do you have a secret talent? If so, what is it?
  10. What is your favorite word (or phrase) in the English language?
  11. What accomplishment are you most proud of?
2 thoughts on “★ ★ ★ LIEBSTER AWARD ★ ★ ★

  1. Yay! I love your answers, and your questions too! That was the hardest part for me, coming up with those questions. 😀 Oh and I’m still finding blogs to nominate too!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.