ARC REVIEW: Risk It (Rule Breakers #4) by Jennifer Chance

I wasn’t a big fan of Want It, book 3 in the Rule Breakers series, so I was actually surprised that the publisher sent me an advance copy of Risk It. Although I had very little interest in Risk It after reading the preceding book, I was determined to give this book a fair shot. I tried…I really tried to like Rand and Dani. Just like with Erin (who incidentally is Dani’s roommate) and Zander, I just couldn’t connect with them and found myself fighting to get through to the end. Had I not felt some obligation to review Risk It, I would have DNF’d it at around the 30% mark.

Dani’s characterization as this bad ass small-time thief/scam-artist just didn’t ring true for me. Not in a way that made her likable or endearing as a romance heroine; just a tough girl with a chip on her shoulder. I felt sorry for her more than anything. Admittedly, I can be harsh on romance heroines sometimes, but Rand annoyed me just as much, maybe more, here. Perhaps, I’m just tired of the poor, rich alpha hero with a troubled past.

Lastly, Rand and Dani spent way too much time trying to one up each other in some crazy cat and mouse game. Almost all the way until the end, I was thinking, “why are they together again??” Besides the steamy sex scenes, I couldn’t see anything between Dani and Rand that would go the distance for a believable HEA. Overall, the premise was one that I found interesting but Risk It just didn’t live up to my expectations. This may be a case of “it’s not you, it’s me.” as I did find the writing to be decent.

*ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review.*

Rating: ⭐️⭐️

BUY | SERIES ORDER  | AUTHOR

