REVIEW: Love & Other Things by Christina C. Jones

I make no bones about the fact that I’m not a big fan of short stories. What can I say? I’m greedy. When I get to the words, “the end“, I don’t like being left with unanswered questions. I want to feel that these characters that I spent time falling in love with can make it for the long haul.

So when I saw that Love & Other Things was about not one couple, but THREE different (though interconnected) couples, and less than 150 pages total to boot, I already had my scowl ready and waiting. Color me shocked that CCJ wrapped up three couples in this novella without leaving me feeling cheated in the least.

Each couple’s story is well-developed and never felt contrived or rushed. Amazingly, there’s no insta-love here like most romance shorts. These relationships really have time to cook. I didn’t have to suspend disbelief that they’d make it. Yeah, that all happens in ~130 pages.

Would I have liked each story to be longer? Is chocolate sweet? Yes; of course! But, like good chocolate I didn’t need to gorge on it to be satisfied.

If you’re new to CCJ’s work, this would be the perfect book to get a feel for her writing before investing in one of her full-length titles. (Although if you’ve been following my reviews, you already know that I’d highly recommend taking the time to read her full-length books. You won’t regret it!)

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️½

BUY | AUTHOR

