ARC REVIEW: Chasing Shade by Sommer Marsden

Archie Rader is down on his luck, living in his truck, with only $200 to his name when gas station directions lead him into the diner where Betsey Green works. By the end of his meal, Archie has a lead on a job that comes with accommodations and a growing attraction to sweet Betsey.

“I found you. And I think it was because of a great and terrible hunger and a lonely hairpiece in the middle of the road.”

Betsey is a cute and lively young woman who despite her past is willing to still see the good in people…except herself. She’s made a hodgepodge family with the townspeople who’ve helped her rebuild her life in the years since she moved to Turner’s Corner. Archie, regardless of his current situation, is a true knight in shining armor.

Things move rather quickly between Archie and Betsey, though what occurs between these two is not casual in the least.

“What we’ve had in these last few days is the first good…the first honest thing I’ve seen in a long time. My life could use a dose of good and honest. Of Betsey.”

Chasing Shade was my first book by Sommer Marsden yet it won’t be my last as I greatly enjoyed this surprisingly intense and sexy tale.  Usually, I’m not a fan of insta-love but I was positively charmed by Betsey, Archie and the supporting characters from beginning to end. These characters are normal people, with ordinary faults. There’s no excessive melodrama although Betsey’s story will break your heart at points, which made her waffling understandable and easily forgivable (for me at least). I’d recommend Chasing Shade for anyone looking to step outside the Romancelandia formula with an out-of-the-box read.

*ARC provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

BUY | AUTHOR

