REVIEW: Married to the Bad Boy by Vanessa Waltz

Rating: 2.5/5 stars
When I posted that I was about to start this book on social media, a friend of mine said, “this should have been called, “Married the the Manwhore…I couldn’t get beyond chapter 2.” Her brief “review” made me a bit nervous as to what I was getting myself into, but I decided to not give up on this book before I’d even read a few chapters.

This is one of those times I should have listened to my friends. I just couldn’t get into this or connect with Tony and Elena’s plights.

Elena was the pampered mafia princess until her father becomes an informant aka a rat and is killed by his fellow mafioso. Elena needs help to get away from her abusive ex-boyfriend, Rafael, but no one — including her family — will help. The only way from under her ex is to put a hit on him. The problem is that he’s a made man, so none of the mafioso can/will help. This leads Elena to Montreal with $100K to find someone who will kill Rafael.

Tony is a made man in a Montreal crime family. He’s an unrepentant manwhore. Believe me, Tony takes that title very very seriously. Although Tony won’t help Elena off Rafael, he wants Elena in his bed. Since no one will kill Rafael, the only way Rafael will leave Elena alone is if she “belongs” to another made man…so Tony and Elena embark on a fake marriage.

“I don’t care if our arrangement isn’t real, your tongue will only taste my cock.” His fingers shove inside me. “Same with your pussy. It’s mine, along with the rest of you. I have a reputation, and you’re not going to fuck it up.”

I could have easily given up on this book  without guilt at the halfway point…alas I didn’t, but I found myself skimming to get to the point. We’re taken all around the mulberry bush with lots of sex, bad decisions, and blackmail while Rafael still can’t get the hint that Elena does not want him. TBH, it wore me out. Along the way, the fake marriage becomes real for Tony and Elena, but I never quite felt a connection to either of them or who they were. Then the ending…

