REVIEW: The Slayer (Untamed Hearts #2) by Kele Moon

We’ve been waiting a LOOOONNNNGGGG time for Chuito and Alaine’s book. We’ve been getting teasers of their friendship…and more between them, since Romeo and Jules’ book, Star Crossed.

Chuito came to Garnet, Kentucky to escape the gangster life in Miami five years ago. Since meeting his neighbor, Alaine – a preacher’s daughter, Chuito has been fighting their attraction. He doesn’t want to bring the evil in his life into her realm.  Alaine is his Angel.  He loves her, but he won’t take things further than friendship. Alaine is not on board.  She wants Chuito and she’s going to have him.

“You have to find someone else, mami. I need you to do that for me.”
“But I love you.”
“It doesn’t matter. I can’t ever be what you want. I can never be more than your friend. I won’t let myself.”
“I can wait. I can wait for my love story.”
I enjoyed getting the full story behind Chuito and Alaine’s journey over the years through well-paced flashbacks. We really get to know these characters deeply….who they are and why they mean so much to one another. At points, I felt the story was somewhat slow but around the halfway point, things REALLY heat up. This is when The Slayer took off…taking hold of my heart and it wouldn’t let go!
I loved Chuito; his sense of loyalty to Marco and Tino is unrivaled and his selfless love for Alaine melted my heart. Alaine, at first came off as the sweet and innocent…almost naive. I was worried that she wouldn’t be able to stand up to the darkness in Chuito’s life when the poo hit the fan outside of Garnet. But I needn’t worry; Alaine is no shrinking violet.
The bromance between Chuito and Tino…OMG!!  There’s a moment in Miami that nearly devastated me.
Chuito and Alaine’s journey has some really dark moments that I felt to my core. Through it all love does prevail and my heart was put back together again. I wont soon forget this captivating friends-to-lovers story. I’ll be waiting with bated breath for Tino’s book next.
Dear Kele Moon…
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️½

Kindle|Series Order