REVIEW: Beautiful Stranger by Christina Lauren

It’s been a loooooonnnng time since I read the first book in this series, Beautiful Bastard. I wasn’t too fond of the Chloe and Bennett’s love story. When an introduction to a series doesn’t turn my crank, I usually give up on it. There are just too many books out there to continue with a series I don’t think I’ll enjoy.

A number of book friends, who also didn’t fall in love with BB, said that Beautiful Stranger was much better; thus, I should give this series another chance. So I did.

I started BS back in February, read about 50% of it and decided to put it on the back burner until just a few days ago — over a month later. Although a good story, at the time I wanted to read something with a bit more depth and less sex than BS was giving me at the time. The second half is when this story gets down to the nitty gritty of who Max and Sara are; therefore, I read right through to the end in one sitting.

As promised, I did like BS better than BB. The story flowed better and although Max and Sara have a veritable sex fest for the first half of the book, I found that there was more of a fleshed out plot/story overall than its predecessor. BUT…

Sara, frustrated me to no end. All the way to the end, I was thinking, “REALLY, Sara!?!? REALLY?!” OTOH, Max was magically delicious which saved this book from a DNF fate. Furthermore, I loved the creative sexy time between Max and Sara. Unfortunately, Sara completely brought the book down for me; thus, the mixed emotions behind my rating.

Lastly, we are introduced to Max’s playboy friend/business partner Will, who was intriguing, so I’ll continue with the series in time. This series will be perfect when I want a break from more deeply emotional reads, needing a sexy read injected with some humor.

Rating: 3.5 3.75-4/5

Kindle|Series Order

One thought on “REVIEW: Beautiful Stranger by Christina Lauren

Comments are closed.