REVIEW: Inappropriate (Bristol Island #2) by Elizabeth Finn

I’ve read most if not all of Elizabeth Finn‘s books, so it’s safe to say I’m a fan of her writing. Ms. Finn writes character driven stories that are not the same old, same old that we constantly read in Romancelandia. She has a way of writing characters who even when I don’t like their actions along the way, I still root for their love to prevail through whatever ups and downs they might be having. Inappropriate was no different in that regard. A sexy, angst-filled ride that I enjoyed greatly.

Cohen Jessup has been away from Bristol Island for a while and during that time he’s acquired a new neighbor, Dylan Corbett, an e-rom writer. When they meet there’s an instant attraction on both parts. There’s flirty banter between them and Cohen is just about to ask Dylan out when he’s called away suddenly. Then Dylan makes an appointment for a much needed check-up; there she learns that Cohen is not just her neighbor, but Dr. Cohen Jessup, the only doctor on Bristol Island. After a rather invasive physical exam makes their relationship off limits, Cohen and Dylan fight their attraction and try to remain just friends/neighbors.

 

 

“I was looking at a seven week wait for an appointment on the mainland in the dead of winter that I had no real hope of even getting myself to. I just … didn’t realize how this whole being-stuck-on-the-same-small-ass-island mentality thing would work. I should have known it would be a mistake to let him be my doctor, but… Sometimes I don’t figure these things out quickly enough.”


Even once Cohen decides to break the rules, Inappropriate continues to be full of angst; I really felt both Dylan’s and Cohen’s struggles. Beyond the ethics of the doctor-patient relationship, Dylan has a past that she’s trying to escape by moving to isolated Bristol Island. As their relationship develops, Dylan’s past is revealed to Cohen in the worst way possible and he doesn’t react kindly.

Throughout their journey, Cohen and Dylan both made me want to smack them upside the head at times but I never wanted to stop reading. Both their actions and reactions were real, not just how we’d like fictional characters to act. They have to work for their HEA…almost up until the end there’s something that could easily end them, if they let it.

I couldn’t have said it more perfectly than Ms. Finn herself does in Cohen’s words…

“She didn’t like to pave an easy road; he suspected it was her ode to life in general. Life wasn’t easy, nor was it supposed to be, and she seemed to understand that. Overcoming obstacles was as important as the happily-ever-after to her. Her characters were always fighters in that way—regardless of how many times they fell down, made stupid mistakes, groveled for forgiveness, and then got back on path. He loved that about her mind.”
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️½

Kindle|Series Order

