REVIEW: Holiday on Ice by Jaci Burton

Let’s start with the cover, shall we?

If there’s a contest for hottest romance novel cover, Jaci Burton wins hands down!! The covers for this series as a whole have been stellar!

Here, we have Trick and Stella who have had an on and off friends with benefits relationship for about a year. Trick is a hockey player who travels a lot and Stella is a busy professional dancer. Due to both their hectic schedules, they’ve lost touch in recent months. They run into each other one night at a bar after a hockey game and so it begins. Trick really likes Stella…they connect in and out of the bedroom and he’s ready to hang up his player card and be with Stella for the long haul. Stella, on the other hand, has sworn off anything more than casual hookups with men.

I loved Trick…Stella..not so much. I did like that Stella was headstrong and in control of her sexuality. Stella knew what she wanted and wasn’t afraid to ask for it or give it. What I didn’t love about Stella was that I was beaten over the head with Stella being against relationships. For the better part of this book, it’s mentioned repeatedly; as if that’s the only thing that defined Stella after nearly a decade had passed since she’d had her heart broken. I didn’t need her to fall hard for Trick right away; but I found the repeated hints, to keep me in suspense, annoying for a book this short. Sadly, by the time it’s revealed, Stella’s reasons just fell flat for me.

Then there’s the misunderstanding on her part near the end which further cemented Stella as an absolute ninny in my mind. Of all the heroines in this series, Stella is my least favorite.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️½

Kindle|Series Order

