REVIEW: More Than Always (Love Always #2) by Jacinta Howard

Most times I’m hesitant about reading a sequel because: 1) 99.99999% of the romance couples I’ve read with more than one book I felt could have been resolved in one book and 2) I don’t want to read manufactured drama for a couple that left me feeling all warm and fuzzy at the end of their first book. When I finished Better Than Okay, I didn’t have either one of these thoughts. I wanted…no…I needed more of Brian and Destiny. Although Brian and Destiny were left in a good place, all their issues weren’t resolved. I felt that they still had some growing to do as a couple.

There’s no doubt that Brian and Destiny are deeply in love. Both know that the other is their one and only.

“I’ve wanted you for a long time, Destiny. It feels good to finally be able to love you out loud.”

That doesn’t mean that their relationship won’t be tested.

Where BTO was Destiny’s book, MTA is definitely Brian’s. Brian has spent the better part of his life dealing with the effects of his mother’s drug addiction, so he’s used to taking care of himself and others on his own. Keeping it all bottled up inside. After all Destiny has been through and overcome in the last 6 months, the last thing Brian wants to do is burden Destiny with his turmoil. Destiny, of course, is not on board with this way of thinking…

“It was a lot for anyone to take in and she wanted to be there for him. Wanted to be by his side as he dealt with everything he was feeling. But he pushed her away. She thought they were moving forward, moving past issues of wanting to “protect her” from his life, whatever the hell that even meant. But now, she didn’t know.”

Neither of these MCs is perfect. At times both Brian and Destiny are immature, disconnected and unsure, but none of that stopped me from rooting for them. All their emotions and struggles are well-drawn and real.

“All of his thoughts and internal debates came back to one thing—he wanted Destiny forever, and he wanted that now.”

When Brian and Destiny finally work through their ish, it’s oh so sweet.

“One thing I’ve learned in these past few months is that love isn’t just a feeling. Love is a choice because feelings come and go. But loving you is my decision for life.”

Jacinta Howard further cements her place as one of my favorites with each book. I’m soooo looking forward to what’s going to happen with Dorian and Raven in the next (and last, booo hoo!) book for this series.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️½
