REVIEW: Ghost of Fire by Maureen Smith

If you’ve read my reviews, you already know that I’m a big fan of Maureen Smith. Ghost of Fire is one of her early works, originally published in 2002 and re-released in 2013. Having discovered Ms. Smith in 2009, I’d never read GoF.

Rachel’s father is accused of burning down his own restaurant. As the assistant state attorney pursuing the case, Nick becomes Rachel’s enemy instantly. Unfortunately for both, they keep running into each other professionally. Eventually Rachel and Nick can’t deny their attraction any longer.

As with other works by Ms. Smith, GoF is very well-developed. Actually, there was almost too much detail here. Some of the details I felt weren’t necessary; thus I found myself skimming more than a few times. Beyond that, the suspense plot is convincing, intriguing and engaging.

Where I found the story to be lacking was in building a relationship between Rachel and Nick. The physical attraction was clear, but there’s so much emphasis on the suspense plot that despite Nick and Rachel not spending a whole lot of time together or having many personal conversations, they are riding off into the sunset toward marriage and babies by the end; without not one real date.

Overall, I good read, but not great for me. Having read numerous works by this author in the last 5 years, what I did see is how far her writing has evolved from her early works.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

