REVIEW: Twisted (Tangled #2) by Emma Chase

It’s been a long time since I read book one in this series, Tangled. In the interim, I’ve read a few short updates on this group of friends we met; all in Drew’s POV. I thoroughly enjoyed Drew and Kate’s journey but most of all, what turned my crank was that Emma Chase gave us something not often found in this genre — a story told from the hero’s POV. Drew is a pompous jerk — albeit lovable and witty, he’s not PC and didn’t hold anything back in his word choices. When I picked up Twisted, I was looking forward to Kate’s narrative being more like Drew’s funny, tell-it-like-it-is conversational manner. Kate’s POV, though not bad, it just didn’t do it for me like Drew’s did.

It’s been 2 years since the events of Tangled. We find Kate and Drew living together and blissfully in love…until they aren’t.

For a considerable portion of Twisted, Drew and Kate aren’t together due to an epic misunderstanding. I emphasize ‘misunderstanding’ because these two could have cleared up things fairly easily if they just communicated like rational adults. The fact that these two acted so immaturely irked me. I felt like they’d grown 0% in their two years and the additional conflict was just manufactured for the sake of another book in this series.

When Drew and Kate do kiss and make up, there’s a huge time jump to an epilogue. The epilogue is where I started to enjoy this book again. No surprise that it’s also told from Drew’s POV.

In the end, Twisted wasn’t knee-slapping, laugh out loud funny as I was expecting/wanting. Because the hero/ine were separated for much of the story, it wasn’t all that sexy either. The writing here is still very good, so I liked it but didn’t love it. For me, Twisted suffered from what usually makes me wary of sequels. Tangled left this couple on the way to their HEA; thus, the new drama in the form of a break up left me feeling like Drew and Kate were starting over rather than moving forward.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️
