REVIEW: Show the Fire (Signal Bend, #6) by Susan Fanetti

I started off 2015 with All The Sky so that I could finish the Signal Bend series which I enjoyed immensely in 2014. Things heat up in the last third of ATS and continues into Show The Fire.

A few pages in, Ms. Fanetti give readers a warning regarding the violence contained in one chapter in particular within STF. Anyone who has read this series knows Ms. Fanetti doesn’t exactly hold back on the dark, violent details. Behold the Stars  affected me more deeply than a book has in a LONG time and there was no warning (even though I would have liked one) included. Needless to say, I was increasingly nervous as I read STF.

Dr. Tasha Westby is a loyal friend and club daughter to the Night Horde. In the last 20 years, Tasha has distanced herself from the MC but is always available when they need her to patch up a member without leaving a trail for law enforcement to follow. In recent years, Tasha’s put her career in danger repeatedly to help the Night Horde. Unfortunately, it’s finally caught up with her and she loses her job at the county hospital.

Len Wahlberg feels responsible for Tasha’s current predicament. Len arrives at Tasha’s apartment to talk and quickly realizes that although he’s known Tasha since she was a child, he doesn’t really know who she is now.

For at least two-thirds of STF, there’s a powder keg just waiting to blow up between the MC and the drug cartel, but it’s Tasha and Len getting to know one another and navigate as a couple in the forefront. I liked that although Len hasn’t been in a serious relationship most of his adult life, he’s not afraid of one now. Tasha is much more hesitant. She’s not pining for Isaac; who she had a relationship with some years ago, but that relationship left some emotional scars that haven’t healed easily, so she’s scared.

I enjoyed reading a romance between older, more mature protagonists. There’s open communication and compromise even as there’s moments when you just want to scream at them. Tasha’s group of friends were a good addition to the story and we get to know both Tasha and Len away from the Night Horde clubhouse.

Now about the aforementioned violence factor…

When an author tells you that her work is the most dark to date, take heed.

I found out inadvertently that a character is violently murdered in STF in response to a social media post of mine so I thought I was prepared, even though I didn’t know who it was.

Scratch that…

When the forewarned violence comes, I actually GASPED and very soon thereafter found tears
running down my face. Ms. Fanetti does such a great job with character development in this series that this character’s death and preceding events really hit me hard…like it was happening to my own loved ones.

From that point on, the rest of the book is overshadowed with sadness even in the midst of a HEA for Len and Tasha.

Ms. Fanetti states, “often, the best anyone can hope for is a happy-for-now,” so things will get worse before they get better for the town of Signal Bend and the Night Horde. I am equally excited and sad to see how this series will end with Badger’s story in Leave A Trail.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️½
One thought on “REVIEW: Show the Fire (Signal Bend, #6) by Susan Fanetti

Comments are closed.