REVIEW: Burned (Ignite Trilogy, #1) by Tara Sivec

I haven’t read anything by Tara Sivec in a long while. I enjoyed her Chocolate Lovers series, which included Seduction & Snacks, one of my favorites by Ms. Sivec. So I was looking forward to reading something more recent from her.

Burned is very different than the Seduction & Snacks and its companions. Where that series was full of humor and lower on the steam scale; this series, if Burned is anything to go by, replaces the humor with emotional angst and blow-your-panties-off heat.

I enjoyed this story’s premise/plot and the characters were quite likable, but it was too much like a narration when I’d rather be shown what was happening in those seventeen days between Collin and Lee. The story felt more like I was in a perpetual flashback, than real time.

Lastly, the subplot with Lee’s soon-to-be ex husband was somewhat predictable. That being said, I did enjoy it enough to continue with the series and see what happens for DJ and Phina next.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️½
