REVIEW: Alarm by Shay Savage

Warning: this review will be GIF heavy. I just don’t have all the words for how much I disliked this book.

The story is written 100% in Chloe’s POV. For the first 45% of this book…

I think Alarm would have greatly benefitted from a dual POV as Aiden is a far more interesting character. Reading the blurb, I thought that a plot where the hero/ine meet and go off on vacation after only 2 days of knowing one another, there’d be some excitement, but NOPE! The pace was painfully slow and uneventful for way too long.

I can’t say how many times I considered throwing this book to the trash heap.

The only reason I stuck it out was because I wanted to know what Aiden’s secrets were. As we get more clues, I figured out most of it; long before Aiden spills all the beans. Whereas, Chloe remains completely oblivious and stuck in her assumptions of what/who Aiden is or isn’t.

Again, we have a heroine who doesn’t trust the hero, yet she seems to forget all about that for the sake of getting pounded with his huge c***; sans protection, no less. For the better part of this book, Chloe is absolutely convinced that Aiden is a criminal. A criminal who has a secret child. A secret child whose mother is MIA and Aiden may be responsible somehow. Alas, Aiden’s magic peen renders Chloe with temporary amnesia in the sight of all of her reservations.

To say Chloe was sheltered, boring and uptight is a major understatement!! Me, every time Chloe’s internal “ALARM” went off…

My main problem was that all of Chloe’s “alarms” are based on unfounded assumptions. No matter what Aiden did that didn’t fit those assumptions, Chloe still held tight. Never does she just come out and ask Aiden what’s going on like a mature adult. I kept trying to remember how old Chloe was…her actions read more like a very immature, naive girl in her late teens/early 20s, but she’s supposed to be more like 28 years old.

Unfortunately, even after Chloe’s transformation when her actions started to make more sense to me, it was too late in the game to endear me to this story. Having never read this author, but hearing so much good about her other books, I was very disappointed in Alarm.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️
