REVIEW: Stone Cold Knockout (House of Pain, #1) Lavender Parker

I found Ms. Lavender Parker last fall after seeing a review for Stone Cold Knockout on Facebook; this was my first read by the author. The blurb for SCK gave me an out-of-the-ordinary love story that I couldn’t pass up — set in NYC (my beloved hometown), multicultural cast of characters, alpha hero and a multi-faceted, strong-willed heroine.

Gennifer, our heroine, is a amateur boxer with a bit of a chip on her shoulder. She’s overcome childhood tragedy to make a good life for herself with the help of her foster family. Gennifer asks Mikhail, a new member of the House of Pain gym, to help her train for an upcoming tournament and so it begins…

I really enjoyed Mikhail and Gennifer together. Their romance is at turns unexpectedly sweet, unapologetically sexy and emotionally intense. Just when I thought I had things figured out, there’s a wonderful plot twist that adds even more depth to this couple’s journey.

Lastly, the secondary characters were a welcome and engaging addition to SCK. I look forward to continuing this series and getting to know more of the House of Pain cast, in addition to future books from this author.

 Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️½
5 thoughts on “REVIEW: Stone Cold Knockout (House of Pain, #1) Lavender Parker

  1. I’m a huge MMA and boxing fan, so this first installment sounds like my kind of novel! Can’t resist a fighter 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.