REVIEW: Mean Streak by Sandra Brown

I haven’t read a Sandra Brown novel in years. When I saw several reviews for Mean Streak on Goodreads within days of one another, I figured it was time to reacquaint myself with this author. This was a departure from my usual reads and I needed that at the time.

There were a lot of characters introduced in a short time; each one had a purpose for the story’s progression though. Additionally, there were a lot of twists and turns that kept me engaged from beginning to end. Many times I’m disappointed in romantic suspense that the plot twists are predictable and transparent. Not here! Sandra Brown does a superb job of making us feel the suspense and Emory’s apprehension surrounding Hayes.

Then why not a 5-star rating?

I had some minor issues with the actions of the main characters.

First, Hayes is a taciturn and broody alpha hero, so when it’s revealed why he was in hiding for years I was somewhat disappointed. It was a little emo and almost cowardly, which took away from the big bad alpha we’d been introduced to for the better part of the book.

And Emory…what is it with romance heroines having unprotected sex with unnamed, shady men?? At the point of Emory and Hayes’ first sexual encounter, she knew absolutely nothing about this man. Not only does he refuse to give her his name, she has no proof that he wasn’t a violent criminal. Furthermore, they didn’t discuss protection or birth control. And Emory’s a renowned physician, in her 30s, not a naive young’un!!  So I should assume that she’s not stupid and knows better.

Overall, Mean Streak is low on steam, as I expect with Ms. Brown’s books, but an emotionally intense ride nonetheless. Something that I’ve missed in the romantic suspense genre.

 Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
