ARC REVIEW: Rocky Mountain Romance (Six Pack Ranch #7) by Vivian Arend

I read the first 3 books in the Six Pack Ranch series way back when but lost track of it due to other reading.  I enjoyed the books I read and Vivian Arend’s writing so it wasn’t due to lack of interest.  I was excited to get back to the series when my NetGalley request was approved, yet I was a little worried too because I hadn’t been introduced to Steve and Melody in the books I’d read.  It wasn’t a problem luckily…there are some intriguing updates on the couples from Rocky Mountain Angel, Rocky Mountain RebelRocky Mountain Freedom, and Rocky Ride who are all close to Steve and Melody.  I do plan to go back and catch up with these books in addition to the Thompson & Sons series in the future because I like this group of friends and family.

Anyhoo…

Steve and Melody had a casual relationship for 2 years before an explosive beer-dousing breakup.  Following their breakup, Melody went away for a year to continue her vet training; now she’s back in Rocky Mountain to work for her mentor at the local vet clinic.  Steve has changed from the carefree, devil-may-care guy he was a year ago and he wants to prove that he can be the man Melody needs/wants for the long haul.

My only real issue with RMR was the amount of secrecy surrounding the reason why Melody went postal on Steve and poured a pitcher of beer over his head in front of their friends/family so I thought the reason behind their breakup was something pretty scandalous. When the real reason for Melody’s reaction and their breakup is revealed it was understandable, but fell a bit flat for me considering the build up in the story.

Otherwise, RMR is a perfectly sweet, sexy, and low angst second chance love story.  There’s nothing much to say bad about his book, although nothing mind-blowing happened either.  It was just what I needed to get me back to the Coleman and Thompson clans.

*ARC provided by author via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*

 Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️
