REVIEW: Worth the Fall (The McKinney Brothers #1) by Claudia Connor

Matt, a Navy SEAL on medical leave meets a pregnant widow, Abby, on vacation with her 4 young children. He’s completely taken with the kids and inexplicably drawn to Abby. I was intrigued by the premise of this book; it didn’t seem very realistic so I wanted to see how the author would make it work.

Overall, Worth the Fall was a very sweet, low steam read that kept me engaged until the end. I liked the main characters, especially Matt and the kiddos, and their backstories kept me interested and rooting for them throughout.

That said, I did feel like the story dragged on in the middle with Matt’s internal conflict over whether to leave the military for good and Abby’s trust issues with believing Matt wouldn’t be like everyone else in her past by leaving her.

My main question in the plot was — why all the kids?? Abby had four and was pregnant with number five. I like kids in a romance but so many didn’t make sense to me. Abby’s deceased hubby was an asshole who was never at home. Did he only come home when Abby was ovulating…knock her up and leave again?? Why did Abby keep having kids with a man who didn’t want her or the kids? Did Abby keep having kids so she wouldn’t be alone?? I had so many questions around this plot point that went unanswered.

Minor issues aside, as debut novels go, this was a good one and I plan to continue with the series.

 Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️½
