REVIEW: Cowboy Take Me Away (Rough Rider #16) by Lorelie James

The Rough Riders series by Ms. James holds a special place in my heart because it is one of the first erotic romance series I found waaaaay back when I started reading the genre. I’ve anxiously awaited each release over the years and grown to love this western family saga.  Some of the Rough Riders heroes and heroines remain my top favorites even after reading hundreds of books since I discovered Ms. James’.

I was sad to read that CTMA would be the last in the Rough Riders series, but I was looking forward to reading how the McKay family I’ve come to love started with Carson and Carolyn 50+ years ago.

This story started out a bit on the melancholy side with a very Notebook-esque storyline.  Although, I enjoyed reading Carson and Carolyn’s love story and how they built their lives in flashbacks, I don’t know what it was, but it took me quite a long time to get into CTMA. I read it a little here and there over a couple of MONTHS – a first for me with an LJ novel. Usually, I devour each book within a day or two; hating to see it end.

As with all her novels, eventually (40-ish %) I was sucked into the story, and couldn’t stop reading. In the end, I really liked CTMA, but it’s not my favorite in the series. In any case, it was a great way to end the series. The McKays will be greatly missed, but I look forward to seeing what comes next from Ms. James.

 Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️½
