ARC REVIEW: Three Nights with a Rock Star (Half-Life #1) by Amber Lin & Shari Slade

Ever read a book that has so much going on that it’s difficult to just go with it and enjoy?  Well, that was Three Nights with a Rock Star for me.

We have responsible, Sunday school teacher Hailey who is on a mission to find her sister Chloe’s baby daddy, who may or may not be a member of the Half-Life rock band. See, Hailey and Chloe grew up with a deadbeat mom and never knew their dads, so Hailey is bound and determined that Chloe’s baby will not grow up the same way. By hook or crook, Hailey’s going to convince this guy to “do the right thing” by her sister and the baby. Only snag in Hailey’s plan is that Chloe hasn’t give her any info about the guy who got her pregnant. Hailey needs help so that’s where Half-Life’s band leader, Lock comes in.  Lock wants Hailey to be his sex slave for the weekend in exchange for letting her play “Nancy Drew” to find Chloe’s guy. That sounds a bit much to ask, but who am I to judge when Hailey pounces at the chance like a fat kid offered a lifetime supply of cake.

Admittedly, I did a bit of an eye roll reading the blurb – a Pollyanna-ish Sunday school teacher and a hard-hearted rock star, how’s that gonna work??

Unfortunately, too much didn’t curl all the way over for me in the end. Particularly, I didn’t believe Hailey as the good girl with such hidden dirty fantasies/desires. Maybe I would have been convinced had we gotten more background on these characters.

We get four POVs here – Lock, Hailey, Chloe and her baby daddy. That’s just too many for such a short book, IMO.  Because there are so many POVs, I felt like there were two parallel stories happening here, which sometimes was very distracting from the main, MC’s, Hailey and Lock, story.

On the other hand, TNWAR is HOT. The sex between Hailey and Locke starts off quite early in the story; the sexy time is varied and plentiful throughout. What I didn’t feel was the love connection between Hailey and Lock. Hot sex does not romance and love make for me. I wasn’t convinced that these two characters who barely knew anything beyond the carnal about each another fell in love in their three days/nights together. They don’t share anything real outside the bedroom with one another until about 85% in.

Finally, there was some very wonky dialogue that really took me out of the story at times.

Favorite Quotes (favorite, as in…are you fuckin’ kidding me?!?!)

“You,” he snarled. “Under me. Over me. On your knees in front of me. I get full artistic license to your body for three days.”

Artistic license? Seriously?!?!? Is he planning to paint her or fuck her??

“I’m going to fuck you against that window over there, and I’m not going to be nice about it. Do you like to hurt, Hailey?”

They’ve just met…how about taking it slow so a girl can get used to things, dude!

*ARC provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.* 

 Rating: ⭐️⭐️
