REVIEW: Cut & Run (Cut & Run #1) by Abigail Roux

I’d heard so much about this book and the Cut & Run series as a whole. Every time a new installment is released there’s a rash of new and old lovers of Ty and Zane popping up in my social media newsfeeds singing its praises. I finally gave in and decided to see what all the hype was about for myself.  On some fronts C & R didn’t live up to all its praise and on others it was a stellar read.

The characters Ty Grady and Zane Garrett are interesting, complicated and multi-layered. I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know them and want to continue getting to know them in future installments of the series.  The relationship between Ty and Zane is a slow burn filled with tension and angst, not the roiling boil of other M/M romance that I’ve read previously (admittedly that list is short).  The sex scenes in this book are scant but explosive.

The snarky banter between these two is hilarious and adds beautifully to the brewing love/hate relationship.

Where this story disappointed me was in the suspense plot line.  Ty and Zane are seasoned FBI agents so I was all in for a romantic suspense that would blow my mind with unexpected twists and turns. There are twists and turns but unfortunately my mind was not blown. The suspense plot is not the priority in this story, IMO. By the 40-50% mark I had a pretty good idea as to who the serial killer they were chasing was. When the killer is revealed/confirmed there’s no wrap up or answers as to why. With 300+ pages of “suspense” I’d hoped this part of the story would end on a less anticlimactic note.

If you are a hard core suspense novel fan, this might not be the novel for you. Read Cut & Run for the strong character driven plot and the emotional journey between Ty and Zane. Based on reading the blurbs for the next few books in this series, it seems that Ty and Zane find themselves in the midst of more mystery and mayhem, but I plan to continue with the series primarily to see where their relationship leads them on the road to HEA with the crime and suspense as a purely secondary backdrop.

Rating:⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Kindle|Series Order

